Make your own free website on Tripod.com
JOINT SUMMER MEETING OF THE COMMITTEES ON
COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES-A5003
GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION SYSTEMS FOR TRANSPORTATION (GIS-T)-A5T52
STATEWIDE TRANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D09 URBNAN TRANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D08
July 21, 1997
8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
BLUE HILL ROOM, RADISSON HOTEL
PORTLAND, MAINE

Ron Tweedie, A1D09 Chair, hosted the joint meeting. He opened the meeting by explaining that the four Committees were meeting jointly due to the small attendance on the part of each individual Committee. He also explained that there would be a series of presentations of interest to all groups after which the general meeting would be adjourned. Thirty two persons attended the meeting. Attendance list is attachment 1.

After a round of introductions, we proceeded to address the agenda, attachment 2.

Gary Maring, FHWA, updated the group on the results of the HPMS Strategic Reassessment Workshop. Six of seven objectives were found to be acceptable with some word changes. The scope of the HPMS was found to be acceptable in terms of system coverage. In terms of structure and content, the Workshop endorsed FHWA plans to evaluate each data item for need and to determine at what level each item should be collected. Gary discussed evaluation criteria for evaluating individual data items and the schedule for completing this effort. He also discussed follow up efforts with SCOP, AMPO, user groups, etc.

Jim Gruver, FHWA, reported on the status of FHWA’s GIS activities. He started by saying that the FHWA GIS will consist of the National Highway Planning Network (NHPN) with highway attributes from the HPMS and Bridge attributes from the National Bridge Inventory related to the NHPN with a state supplied linear referencing system (LRS). He indicated that FHWA had received LRS data from all but D.C., Hawaii and Missouri. He indicated that FHWA plans to process all reported LRS and HPMS data by December 31,1997. FHWA is ready to release processed LRS and HPMS data. The following data will be made available to the general public on the Intermodal and Statewide Programs Division INTERNET Site www.byways.org:8085: NHPN, NHPN Linear Referencing System (LRS) attributes for processed States, HPMS Universe Data (Items 2-38) for States with processed data. Processing of bridge attribute data will begin later this year. All processed FHWA GIS data will be made available on the INTRANET for FHWA users.

Rolf Schmitt, BTS, discussed BTS products. He suggested that everyone should check out their web page and indicated that comments/ suggestions were welcome. HE also discussed the status of the Census in Congress.

Charnelle Hicks, Parsons Brinckerhoff, then discussed how they were able to use the NPTS data to develop statewide estimates of travel by mode for the Pennsylvania Statewide Transportation Policy Plan. She indicated that these estimates were reviewed by a large number of groups and were determined to be quite acceptable. Charnelle indicated that she is preparing a paper on this effort.

Wende O’Neill, BTS, talked about GIS activities at BTS including a discussion of their State visits and LRS guidance being developed. Wende also showed a couple of summary slides from a TMIP presentation Jerry Everett, FHWA, was unable to make because he was unable to attend.

Nancy Armentrout, Maine DOT, finished the presentations by discussing their TIDE (Transportation Information for Decision Enhancement) effort to create a GIS-linked Data Warehouse. She indicated their vision for TIDE is to have a tool combining data warehouse and GIS technology to allow easy access to transportation information for system-wide query, analysis and reporting. The presentation was well received and the Maine TIDE effort should be a model for other States.

After the presentations, Alice Watland discussed the possibilities for next year’s midyear meeting. The midyear meeting is currently planned for Seattle, Washington in July. The Statewide data Committee expressed a desire to meet in the same location as Neil Pedersen’s Statewide Planning Committee. There also was discussion about the possibility of meeting at the NATMEC (North American Traffic Monitoring Exhibition and Conference) Meeting in Charlotte, N.C. in May, 1998. No decisions were made.

The general meeting was then adjourned.

P.S. The Statewide Data Committee met at lunch and decided to have a conference session on VMT estimation. Ron Tweedie will craft a description of the proposed session. Charnelle Hicks volunteered to head a group to work on a strategic plan for the Committee. Ed Christopher volunteered to establish a web page for the Committee.



 ROAM OUR SITE


ATTACHMENT 1
COMMITTEES ON
COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES-A5003
GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION SYSTEMS FOR TRANSPORTATION-A5T52
STATEWIDE TRANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D09
URBAN TANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D08
July 21, 1997
8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Radisson Eastland Hotel, Portland Maine
.
MIDYEAR MEETING ATTENDANCE ROSTER
NAME
ORGANIZATION
E-MAIL
Ed Christopher
CATS
berwyed@mcs.com
Rolf Schmitt
BTS
rolf.schmitt@bts.gov
John Fower
Census Bureau
john.l.fowler@ccmail.census.gov
Tom Zabelsky
Census Bureau
thomas.e.zabelsky@ccmail.census.gov
Ed Limoges
SEMCOG
limoges@semcog.org
Roger Petzold
FHWA
roger.petzold@fhwa.dot.gov
Wende O'Neill
BTS
wende.oneill@bts.gov
Paul Shuldiner
UMass, Amherst
shuldiner@ecs.imass.edu
Steve Gordon
ORNL
gordonsr@ornl.gov
Terry Bills
SCAG
bills@scag.ca.gov
Elizabeth Harper
MA Hwy. Dept.
eaharper@worldnet.att.net
Tricia Trepanier
Statistics Can.
treptri@statcan.ca
Kitty Hancock
UMass, Amherst
hancock@kirk.ecs.umass.edu
Ralph Gillman
FHWA
ralph.gillmann@fhwa.dot.gov
Alice Watland
TRB
awatland@nas.edu
Dale Janik
WSA, Inc.
djanik@wilbursmith.com
Deborah Buccaci
AASHTO
debbieb@aashto.org
Rick Pain
TRB
rpain@nas.edu
Jennifer Ogle
TTI
jogle@ttiadmin.tamu.edu
Robert Hanson
VDOT-TRC
rah8y@virginia.edu
Paul O'Packi
GIS/Trans,Ltd.
popacki@ma.gistrans
Wendy Klancher
BTS
wendy.klancher@bts.gov
Nancy Armentrout
ME DOT
nancy.armentrout@state.me.us
Carol Harbaugh
FHWA
carol.harbaugh@fhwa.dot.gov
Reg Souleyrette
ISU-CTRE
reg@iastate.edu
Charnelle Hicks
Parsons Bri.
hicksc@pbworld.com
Barbara Eversole
VNTSC
eversole@volpe3.dot.gov
Russ Capelle
BTS
russ.capelle@bts.gov
Jim Glock
AZ DOT
jglock@ci.tucson.az
Carolee Bush
BTS
carolee.bush@bts.gov
Jim Gruver
FHWA
james.gruver@fhwa.dot.gov
Ron Tweedie
NYSDOT
rtweedie@gw.dot.state.ny

MEMBERS OF A1D09 COMMITTEE IN BOLD


ATTACHMENT 2
COMMITTEES ON
COMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES-A5003
GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION SYSTEMS FOR TRANSPORTATION-A5T52
STATEWIDE TRANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D09
URBAN TANSPORTATION DATA AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS-A1D08
July 21, 1997
8:30 a.m. to Noon
Radisson Eastland Hotel, Portland Maine
.
AGENDA
.
    1. Introductions -- Ron Tweedie, Chair A1D09
    2. Presentations
      Update on HPMS Reassessment. Gary Maring, FHWA
      Status of FHWA GIS Activities, Jim Gruver, FHWA
      BTS Data Products and Census Review, Rolf Schmitt, BTS
      Statewide Travel Data Estimation - Charnelle Hicks
      TMIP Track D - Wende ONeill
      Maine TIDES: Data Warehousing & GIS - Nancy Armentrout, ME DOT
    3. 1998 Midyear Meeting Options - Alice Watland
      Data Committees - Seattle, Washington - July
      NATMEC '98 - Charlotte, NC - May 11-15

      .
Computer Technology Chair: Roger Petzold, 202-366-4074,
fax: 202-493-2198, e-mail: roger.petzold@fhwa.dot.gov
.
Geographic Information Systems for Transportation Chair, Wende O'Neill, e-mail: wende.oneill@bts.gov
.
Statewide Chair: Ronald Tweedie, 518-457-1966, fax: 518-485-8948, e-mail: rtweedie@gw.dot.state.ny.us
.
Statewide Secretary: James Gruver, 202-366-4045,
fax: 202-493-2198, e-mail: james.gruver@fhwa.dot.gov
.
Urban Acting Chair: Ed Christopher, 312-793-3467,
fax:312-793-3481, e-mail: berwyned@mcs.com

Roam Our Site
updated: 081397, EdC